The Killers Return From Five Year Hiatus With Wonderful New Album

Hot Fuss, the 2004 debut album from The Killers, was a great record by any measure. It was chock full of hits that actually deserved to be hits. Yet it was more than just singles. From start to finish, it was a cohesive and highly satisfying experience as an entire album.

Although subsequent releases by the band didn’t (in my opinion) quite reach that same level of excellence, they’ve still been solid efforts. Sam’s Town faced the challenge of overcoming the sophomore slump, and it did so very respectably. Day & Age may be the band’s weakest effort, and it lead to their first extended break. During the four year hiatus, Brandon Flowers released a forgettable solo album, and a live Killers album came out to help fill the void. The Killers re-emerged in 2012 with Battle Born, a strong return to form.

It’s now been five long years since we’ve had a new album from The Killers, not counting the recent compilation of their Christmas singles. That album drought comes to an end on September 22, when Wonderful Wonderful finally arrives. Our first taste of new music came last month with the single “The Man”:

This week, the band released the official track list for the album:

01. Wonderful Wonderful
02. The Man
03. Rut
04. Life to Come
05. Run for Cover
06. Tyson vs. Douglas
07. Some Kind of Love
08. Out of My Mind
09. The Calling
10. Have All the Songs Been Written?
11. Money On Straight*
12. The Man (Jacques Lu Cont Remix)*
13. The Man (Duke Dumont Remix)*

*Deluxe edition bonus tracks

With some prior releases, The Killers have had retail exclusive editions of their albums, so it may be worth watching Target and Best Buy to see if they offer any additional swag or bonus tracks with the album.