Pearl Jam, Tupac, Joan Baez and more to enter Rock & Roll Hall of Fame

The Rock and Roll Hall of Fame has announced their Class of 2017 inductees. As always, the list is a mix of overdue honors, surprisingly young first-timers, fan favorites, and acts that stretch (strain?) the definition of the genre of rock and roll.

Here is your Class of 2017:

  • Joan Baez
  • Electric Light Orchestra
  • Journey
  • Pearl Jam
  • Tupac Shakur
  • Yes
  • Nile Rodgers (Award for Musical Excellence)

Journey led the fan vote, with ELO, Yes and Pearl Jam also pulling in strong support. The nominated acts that didn’t make the cut this year included Bad Brains, The Cars, Chaka Khan, Chic, Depeche Mode, the J. Geils Band, Jane’s Addiction, Janet Jackson, Joe Tex, Kraftwerk, MC5, Steppenwolf and the Zombies. While Nile Rodgers is being inducted with a special award this year, his band Chic is being passed over for the 11th—and perhaps final?—time.

The induction ceremony will take place at the Barclays Center in Brooklyn on April 7, 2017 and will later be broadcast on HBO.