Elton Celebrates 50 Years Of Music With Diamonds

If you’re a halfway serious music fan (and you probably are if you’re reading this blog), you should already have some Elton John in your music collection. Maybe you have one or two of his classic albums. At a bare minimum, you’d have one of his greatest hits collections.

So, truth be told, I’m not sure who would be the main audience for this new 50th anniversary hits collection. Diamonds comes out November 10 in not just a single disc edition, but also a double CD… and a triple CD set! (And, of course, on vinyl as well.) Based on the track list, there’s no way anyone should settle for the single disc version; the 2CD set is the best bet for most casual fans. The more serious, diehard fans of Reg will probably opt for the deluxe version, featuring a third disc of tracks handpicked by the man himself.

There doesn’t appear to be any new or unreleased material in the 3 disc set, so most fans probably have all the music already. At least the deluxe edition rewards fans with some beautiful packaging, including a nice box, a 72 page hardcover book and a set of postcards.

Here’s the full track list for Elton John Diamonds:

Disc 1:

01. Your Song
02. Tiny Dancer
03. Rocket Man (I Think It’s Going To Be A Long, Long Time)
04. Honky Cat
05. Crocodile Rock
06. Daniel
07. Saturday Night’s Alright (For Fighting)
08. Goodbye Yellow Brick Road
09. Candle In The Wind
10. Bennie And The Jets
11. The Bitch Is Back
12. Philadelphia Freedom
13. Island Girl
14. Someone Saved My Life Tonight
15. Don’t Go Breaking My Heart [Elton John and Kiki Dee]
16. Sorry Seems To Be The Hardest Word
17. Little Jeannie

Disc 2:

01. Song For Guy
02. Blue Eyes
03. I’m Still Standing
04. I Guess That’s Why They Call It The Blues
05. Sad Songs (Say So Much)
06. Nikita
07. I Don’t Wanna Go On With You Like That
08. Sacrifice
09. Don’t Let The Sun Go Down On Me [George Michael and Elton John]
10. Something About The Way You Look Tonight
11. I Want Love
12. Can You Feel The Love Tonight
13. Are You Ready For Love?
14. Electricity
15. Home Again
16. Looking Up
17. Circle Of Life

Disc 3:

01. Skyline Pigeon
02. Lucy In The Sky With Diamonds
03. Pinball Wizard
04. Mama Can’t Buy You Love
05. Part-Time Love
06. Victim of Love
07. Empty Garden (Hey Hey Johnny)
08. Kiss The Bride
09. That’s What Friends Are For [Dionne Warwick with Elton John, Gladys Knight & Stevie Wonder]
10. The One
11. True Love [Elton John and Kiki Dee]
12. Believe
13. Live Like Horses [Elton John and Luciano Pavarotti]
14. Written In The Stars [Elton John and LeAnn Rimes]
15. This Train Don’t Stop There Anymore
16. Good Morning To The Night [Elton vs PNAU]
17. Step Into Christmas