Courtney Barnett Teams With Kurt Vile For New Duet Album

It’s been over two years since Courtney Barnett released her debut album. Sometimes I Sit And Think, And Sometimes I Just Sit was arguably one of the best albums of the year, and it earned Barnett a Grammy nomination for Best New Artist. Since that time, fans have been anxiously awaiting her sophomore effort.

In a surprising move, rather than a Sometimes sequel being her next release, Barnett has recorded a collaborative album with another popular indie artist, Kurt Vile. Lotta Sea Lice comes out on October 13. The first single is “Over Everything,” and if you watch the video below, you may notice a significant change in Barnett’s voice. (And Kurt’s.)

Courtney and Kurt are hitting the road together in support of the album this fall. There’s no word on when we can expect a “proper” sophomore record from Barnett.

Here is the track list for Lotta Sea Lice:

01. Over Everything
02. Let It Go
03. Fear Is Like a Forest
04. Outta the Woodwork
05. Continental Breakfast
06. On Script
07. Blue Cheese
08. Peepin’ Tom
09. Untogether