Classic Aretha Franklin Vocals Pair With Orchestral Arrangements On New Collection

Aretha Franklin is without a doubt one of the most iconic vocalists of all time. Even if all you know of her music is the hits, those songs easily merit her inclusion on any list of the greatest female singers. But dig deeper and you find a back catalog filled with hundreds more incredible performances of soul, R&B and gospel music.

On November 10, a new collection will be released that takes fourteen of Franklin’s iconic performances and sets them in a new context. A Brand New Me pairs Franklin’s original vocal performances with newly recorded symphonic accompaniment from the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra.

There’s a growing trend for this sort of musical reworking, blending the old with the new. In fact, this is the second album announcement involving the Royal Philharmonic Orchestra. A week before this Aretha Franklin set comes out, the RHO will supply the accompaniment on a similar set by the late Roy Orbison.

I’m not sure exactly how Franklin’s up-tempo hits like “Think” and “Respect” will play with an orchestra, but I am enthusiastic about “(You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman” and “People Get Ready.” Here’s the complete track list:

Aretha Franklin: A Brand New Me

01. Think
02. Don’t Play That Song (You Lied)
03. I Say a Little Prayer
04. Until You Come Back to Me (That’s What I’m Gonna Do)
05. A Brand New Me
06. (You Make Me Feel Like) A Natural Woman
07. Angel
08. Border Song (Holy Moses)
09. Let It Be
10. People Get Ready
11. Oh Me Oh My (I’m a Fool for You Baby)
12. You’re All I Need to Get By
13. Son of a Preacher Man
14. Respect