A Michael Jackson Halloween Album Is On The Way

Is Michael Jackson the King of Pop or the Pumpkin King?

Obviously, the song and video for “Thriller” have become perennial Halloween classics, and I have a feeling that never bothered Jackson at all. Now, his old record label is taking that song, along with a collection of other Michael Jackson selections, and releasing them as what is essentially a Halloween album. SCREAM comes out September 29 on digital and CD, and October 27 on glow in the dark vinyl.

“The choice of tracks for SCREAM reflects The King of Pop’s affection for this time of the year and its themes of costumes and disguise, darkness and light, character transformations and surprise,” the official press release explains.

Glancing through the song list, you can easily pick up on the album’s theme, whether if not the songs actually make any sense together. Note that two of the songs are actually by The Jacksons (“Torture” and “This Place Hotel”), while “Somebody’s Watching Me” is actually by Rockwell but featuring Michael Jackson on the chorus.

In addition to the 13 previously released songs, there’s a bonus track that’s a mega-mix of five of the songs. “Blood on The Dance Floor X Dangerous” is a mash-up of “Blood on the Dance Floor,” “Dangerous,” “This Place Hotel,” “Leave Me Alone,” and “Is It Scary.”

Here’s the full track list for SCREAM:

01. This Place Hotel
02. Thriller
03. Blood On The Dance Floor
04. Somebody’s Watching Me
05. Dirty Diana
06. Torture
07. Leave Me Alone
08. Scream
09. Dangerous
10. Unbreakable
11. Xscape
12. Threatened
13. Ghosts
14. Blood On The Dance Floor X Dangerous (The White Panda Mash-Up)