Roy Orbison Hits Get A Symphonic Makeover

I’m not always a big fan of taking dearly departed artists and layering their voices on top of newly created musical accompaniments, but this project just might work. Roy Orbison has such a symphonic voice on its own, even in his original recordings. Taking those iconic vocals and pairing them with orchestral accompaniment actually seems like a natural fit.

A Love So Beautiful: Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra, which comes out November 3, takes Roy Orbison classics like “In Dreams,” “Crying” and “Oh, Pretty Woman” and gives them a full orchestral treatment. In addition, Orbison’s sons Wesley, Roy Jr. and Alex also appear on a few of the tracks… as well as ten-month-old grandson, Roy III, on tambourine.

Here is the complete track list for A Love So Beautiful: Roy Orbison with The Royal Philharmonic Orchestra:

01. In Dreams
02. Crying
03. I’m Hurtin’
04. Oh, Pretty Woman*
05. It’s Over
06. Dream Baby +
07. Blue Angel
08. Love Hurts
09. Uptown**
10. Mean Woman Blues+
11. Only the Lonely
12. Running Scared
13. I Drove All Night**
14. You Got It
15. A Love So Beautiful**

*featuring Alex Orbison- drums; Wesley & Roy Jr.- guitars; Roy III- guitar, tambourine
+featuring Alex Orbison- drums; Roy Orbison Jr. – guitar
**featuring Alex Orbison- drums