Nine Inch Nails announce new EP for release in one week

Following through on his hint about the possibility of new music in the remaining weeks of 2016, Trent Reznor’s Nine Inch Nails officially announced the December 23 release of “Not The Actual Events” today. While fans were hopeful for a new album, “Events” will be a 5-track EP. To be fair, Reznor never promised an album, just “New NIN coming in 2016.” Perhaps anticipating a negative/confused response from fans, the band explained:

“It’s an EP because that ended up being the proper length to tell that story.”

That story will include the following tracks:

01. Branches/Bones
02. Dear World
03. She’s Gone Away
04. The Idea of You
05. Burning Bright (Field On Fire)

The new music is described as being “an unexpected left turn” from the previous album, “Hesitation Marks,” in 2013. And while NIN has always really been a pseudonym for Trent Reznor, the announcement that Atticus Ross is now officially a “bandmate” suggests that Nine Inch Nails may actually now be a… band? Regardless, they assure us this new music will sound “unrecognizable from their current film work.”

Meanwhile, Nine Inch Nails also promises vinyl reissues their entire catalog in 2017. This will include a deluxe release of “The Fragile” that will feature a whopping 37 bonus tracks, all exclusive to vinyl; there is no digital or CD release of “The Fragile: Deviations 1” planned at this time.

The Fragile: Deviations 1 Track List:

Side 1A

1. “Somewhat Damaged” (Instrumental)
2. “The Day the World Went Away” (Instrumental)
3. “The Frail” (Alternative Version)
4. “The Wretched” (Instrumental)

Side 1B

1. “Missing Places
2. ‘We’re in This Together” (Instrumental)
3. “The Fragile” (Instrumental)
4. “Just Like You Imagined” (Alternative Version)
5. “The March” (Instrumental)

Side 2A

1. “Even Deeper” (Instrumental)
2. “Pilgrimage” (Alternate Version)
3. “One Way To Get There”
4. “No, You Don’t” (Instrumental)
5. “Taken”

Side 2B

1. “La Mer” (Alternate Version)
2. “The Great Below” (Instrumental)
3. “Not What It Seems Like” (Instrumental)
4. “White Mask”
5. “The New Flesh” (Instrumental)

Side 3A

1. “The Way Is Out Through” (Alternate Version)
2. “Into The Void” (Instrumental)
3. “Where Is Everybody?” (Instrumental)
4. “The Mark Has Been Made” (Alternate Version)

Side 3B

1. “Was It Worth It?” (Instrumental)
2. “Please” (Instrumental)
3. “+Appendage” (Instrumental)
4. “Can I Stay Here?” (Instrumental)
5. “10 Miles High” (Instrumental)

Side 4A

1. “Feeders”
2. “Starfuckers, Inc.” (Instrumental)
3. “Complication” (Alternate Version)
4. “Claustrophobia Machine” (Raw)
5. “Last Heard From”

Side 4B

1. “I’m Looking Forward to Joining You, Finally” (Instrumental)
2. “The Big Come Down” (Instrumental)
3. “Underneath It All” (Instrumental)
4. “Ripe With Decay” (Instrumental)

For all the details, visit the official Nine Inch Nails website.