Dhani Harrison Sounds Nothing Like And Just Like His Father On Solo Debut

It should come as no surprise that all four members of The Beatles produced offspring with musical talents. None have had much of an impact on popular music, though. To date, Julian Lennon has probably been the most successful, with a pair of hits from his debut album, Valotte, in 1984. None of his subsequent albums came close to replicating that modest success.

Although Dhani Harrison has yet to experience mainstream musical success, he’s managed to thrive on the fringes. His most prominent exposure was probably on stage during the legendary all-star jam of “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” at the 2004 Rock & Roll Hall of Fame ceremony.

He’s also released a trio of albums with his band Thenewno2. In 2010, Harrison teamed with indie rockers Ben Harper and Joseph Arthur as a “supergroup” called Fistful Of Mercy. Their album, As I Call You Down, was a respectable set of alt-rock music that generated some buzz, but ultimately failed to get the attention it deserved.

Now, Dhani Harrison is set to release his first album as a solo artist. In///Parallel comes out October 6. The first single, “All About Waiting,” is surprisingly a dancy, synth driven song, showing no signs of Harrison’s inherited talents as a guitarist. Still, the vocal similarities to his father are obvious.

Is this the sound we can expect from the rest of the album? Time will tell.

Here is the full track list for In///Parallel:

01. Never Know
02. #WarOnFalse
03. Úlfur Resurrection
04. Downtown Tigers
05. London Water
06. Summertime Police
07. Poseidon (Keep Me Safe)
08. The Light Under The Door
09. All About Waiting
10. Admiral of Upside Down