Ani DiFranco’s Binary Will Be Her 20th Studio Album

Alt-folk feminist icon Ani DiFranco is set to release her 20th studio album, Binary, on June 9. DiFranco kicked off a PledgeMusic campaign for the album this week, offering various pre-order bundles featuring items ranging from signed CDs to guitars and art prints.

Binary is DiFranco’s first album in three years, following Allergic To Water in 2014. Here is the complete track list:

01. Binary
02. Pacifist’s Lament
03. Zizzing
04. Play God
05. Alrighty
06. Telepathic
07. Even More
08. Spider
09. Sasquatch
10. Terrifying Sight
11. Deferred Gratification

What can we expect from the new album? Sample songs on her PledgeMusic page find Ani in a decidedly funky mood. The album also features appearances by Justin Vernon (a.k.a. Bon Iver) and jazz legend Maceo Parker.

If you’re new to the music of Ani DiFranco, consider digging back into her mid 90s albums Not A Pretty Girl or Dilate. In 2001, she released her excellent double album, Revelling/Reckoning. DiFranco’s 2008 album, Red Letter Year, was also very strong.

Click here to pre-order Binary on PledgeMusic.